top of page
  • Writer's picturetgardner1167

1st NYPHSAA Girls Wrestling Invitational Official Invitees Announced

*Cover photo courtesy of Bob Koshinski/AllSportsWNY*

SYRACUSE – Official invitations to the 1st NYSPHSAA Girls Wrestling Invitational tournament were announced Monday.

Thirty-three athletes representing sixteen Section VI schools have received invitations to compete in the very first edition of the event which is sanctioned by New York State Public High School Athletic Association.

The tournament is Friday, January 27th at SRC Arena on the campus of Onondaga County Community College in Syracuse.

The 1st Girls Invitational was approved for this season and the 2023-2024 season at the October 2022 NYSPHSAA Central Committee meeting in another big step toward girls wrestling becoming a fully recognized and sanctioned sport in the state.

Athletes from the eleven NYSPHSAA sections were extended invitations to compete in the first Invitational.

Wrestling begins at 12pm on Friday, 1/27. Finals are scheduled to begin at 6pm that evening. Tickets to the event are digital only through GoFan and live streaming of any of the rounds will be broadcast via the NFHS Network.

“I’m extremely excited about not only the number of girls participating, but the level of competence I’ve seen this season,” said NYSPHSAA Girls Wrestling committee member Alex Conti, who represents Section VI, on the state of girls wrestling WNY this season. “Already, you can see tremendous growth in our area. That is a credit to the coaches.”

Conti added “Across the state, we’re getting more and more teams…I think NYS will be in really great shape as far as success at the higher level.” And when asked about the possibility of more girls-only teams forming in WNY in time for the start of the 2023-2024 season, Conti confirmed, “absolutely.”

WNY wrestlers receiving invitations to the 1st NYSPHSAA Girls Wrestling Invitational by weight class:


Lily Pieczonka – 8th grade – Niagara Wheatfield

Meyah Aponte – 11th – Fredonia


Gabriella Barone – 7th – Niagara Wheatfield

Alyssa Homsi – 7th – Niagara Wheatfield

Leah Waite – 9th – Fredonia


Brooklyn Pryll – 12th – Falconer

Brenna McCarley – 11th – North Tonawanda

Hannah McCarley – 11th – North Tonawanda


Marissa Tara – 10th – Orchard Park

Maleah McKinney-Updegraph – 12th – Lockport


Madison Szymanowski – 11th – Chautauqua Lake

Emma Schindler – 12th – Gowanda


Alexis Doxey – 7th – Newfane

Gabriella Testa – 10th – Chautauqua Lake


Ke’ya Stevens – 12th – Gowanda

Mia Smith – 10th – Chautauqua Lake


Avery White – 10th – Frontier

Neveah Senik – 8th – Niagara Wheatfield

Sophia Gervasio – 11th – Chautauqua Lake

Gwyneth Edwards – 12th – Lewiston-Porter


Christina Evans – 11th – West Seneca

Meghan Edwards – 12th – Lewiston-Porter

Lillian Hyde – 7th – Chautauqua Lake


Michaela Thomas – 9th – Iroquois

Bella Andes – 9th – Lockport

Eva Colon-DeJesus – 9th – Dunkirk


Gianna Scirri – 12th – Niagara Wheatfield

Ava Bragg – 9th – Lockport


Marea Palka – 11th – Springville

Doris Baker – 11th – North Tonawanda

J’Maxwell Khamya – 10th – Lockport


Gabi Freeburg – 10th – Chautauqua Lake

Miracle Cook – 12th – Clarence

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page