top of page

WNY Wrestling Coaches Association Recognizes Outstanding Athletes, Coaches, and Contributors

The Western New York Wrestling Coaches Association (WNYWCA) held its 18th annual ‘Luncheon of Champions’ at Ilio DiPaolo’s Restaurant on Sunday to mark the end of the 2022-2023 scholastic wrestling season in WNY.

The Association was founded as a way to organize WNY’s scholastic wrestling coaches year round and to raise funds to help support local high school wrestlers and teams, especially in regard to costs associated with postseason championships.

The banquet is held annually at Ilio DiPaolo’s and serves as the region-wide awards showcase for the season’s outstanding wrestlers & coaches and recognition for outstanding contributors to the sport. All of the Section VI and Msgr. Martin league wrestlers who reach the state tournament and/or place at the state federation tournament are given special recognition for their outstanding effort during the season. Also, each year’s new class of WNYWCA Hall of Fame inductees are introduced and recognized.

In addition to special awards, each of the eight league dual meet championship teams and state championships and/or individuals are recognized and presented with plaques courtesy of the WNYWCA.

**2023 WNYWCA Special Award Winners**

*Al Feuz Memorial Contributor’s Award* – Vinny Dell’Oso, Starpoint HS

“In recognition of your unselfish dedication, commitment, and work for the betterment of wrestlers and wrestling, on all levels in WNY.”

*Ilio DiPaolo Family Commitment to Wrestling Award* – Ashely Rowe

“In recognition for your continued promotion of commitment to Section VI wrestling.”

*Jon Vesper Award* – Steve Hart, Starpoint HS

“In recognition of your passion for the sport of wrestling and your tireless and unselfish efforts as a coach in supporting and promoting wrestling and wrestlers in WNY.”

*Media Award* – Joe Kraus, Greater Niagara Newspapers

**WNYWCA Hall of Fame Class of 2023**

John Carleton – former coach, official – Ripley HS

Kellen Devlin – wrestler – Amherst HS

Matt Mariacher – wrestler – Iroquois HS

Dan Poulson – wrestler – North Tonawanda HS

Timm Slade – wrestler, contributor – Iroquois HS

**2022-2023 wrestler awards**

Female Wrestler of the Year – Michaela Thomas, Iroquois HS

Division I “Champion of Champions” Award – Jaden Crumpler, Niagara Falls HS

Division II “Champion of Champions” Award – Jordan Joslyn, Chautauqua Lake HS

**2022-2023 coaches awards**

Division I Assistant Coach of the Year – Kyle McGregor, Starpoint HS

Division II Assistant Coach of the Year – Don Duncanson, Medina HS

Rookie Coach of the Year – Tony Fire, North Tonawanda HS

ECIC Div. I Coach of the Year – Clint Schaefer, Lancaster HS

ECIC Div. II Coach of the Year – Steve Hart, Starpoint HS

ECIC Div. II Coach of the Year – Chris Edwards, Pioneer HS

Msgr. Martin HS Athletic Association Coach of the Year – Pete Kennedy, St. Joe’s HS

Chautauqua- Cattaraugus Athletic Assoc. Div. I Coach of the Year – Ken Rowe, Chautauqua Lake HS

CCAA Div. II Coach of the Year – Steve Raymond, Frewsburg HS

Niagara-Orleans Coach of the Year – Mike Carlo, Wilson HS

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page