top of page

Wrestling Hall of Fame Selects WNY’s Tom Shifflet and Timm Slade to 2020 Induction Class

The Upstate New York Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame announced its newest class on Thursday. Among the seven inductees that will make up the class of 2020, Sweet Home alumnus and 1990 New York State champion Tom Shifflet and current Section VI executive director Timm Slade will be honored on September 20th at the chapter’s awards ceremony in Syracuse.

Shifflet was a two-time Section VI champion and state finalist in 1989 before winning in 1990. To date, Shifflet is the only NYS champion in Sweet Home program history. Shifflet posted a 165-15-1 career record as well. Collegiately, Mr. Shifflet wrestled at Edinboro and was a three-time Division I All-American and also placed at the Olympic Trials, U.S. Nationals, and U.S. World Team Trials in freestyle wrestling. Shifflet then went on to coaching positions at Georgia State University and Cornell before taking on head coach positions at University of North Carolina-Greensboro and then Hofstra University.

“Tom Shifflet has been involved in wrestling for his entire life, since the days of wrestling for his father, Joe, at Sweet Home High School to the various colleges that he has been associated with during his remarkable coaching career,” said Upstate NY Chapter president Carl Koenig. “He is a member of the Edinboro Wrestling Hall of Fame after having an outstanding career as a three-time All-American as well. The Upstate New York Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame is honored and privileged to have Tom join his father in our Hall of Fame.”

Section VI executive director Timm Slade is an Iroquois High School alumnus and was a 1983 Section VI champion for the Chiefs. Mr. Slade took over as Executive Director in 2009 and, among many other initiatives, has overseen the growth of girls’ wrestling in Western New York as well as the organization of the Section VI Dual Meet Championships as part of the NYSPHSAA Dual Meet Championships qualifying process.

“Timm Slade and the family name are known for excellence in wrestling in the state and Section VI,” said Mr. Koenig. “Since he commenced as Executive Director in 2009, Timm has advocated for all sports both boys and girls. Furthermore, he has been a vanguard for female wrestling in Section VI and the state as evidenced by the all-girls tournament in WNY. He understands the importance of athletics and the role it plays in the educational process for our students. Timm is very deserving of this honor and epitomizes an outstanding American in all aspects of his life.”

Other inductees include Mitch Clark (Ohio State, Canton HS), Jim Cranfield (Cayuga Community College), Eric Romanino (Beacon HS), Eric D’Arcy (Newark Valley HS), and Mike Fusilli (Ithaca College).

The 2020 induction banquet is scheduled for Sunday, September 20th at the Double Tree in East Syracuse. The National Wrestling Hall of Fame is located in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

5 views0 comments


bottom of page